A Perfect Weekend

                I can finally say that I’ve experienced a Virginia wine tour. My friend (and the best planner I know) put together a wonderful day full of booze, food and laughter.

We started the day off with some Bodo’s bagels on the way to King Family Vineyards.

IMG_1526

This place is so beautiful and the staff was great, too. Our waitress patiently answered all of our questions and gently guided us through our tasting all without letting our giddy excitement get in the way of her work.

We had great outdoor entertainment …

IMG_1522

Hands-off, laid-back parenting…cool.

Leaving your baby unattended in a car seat (at a winery, no less)…questionable.

After a little judging, we headed to Afton Mountain Vineyards.

IMG_1528

Another place of jaw-dropping beauty.

IMG_1529

Their tagline says it all…

‘grapes don’t grow in ugly places’.

It was at this vineyard that I found my new favorite wine, Gewurztraminer. I admittedly know nothing about wine. My wine purchases usually fall into 1 of 2 categories – cheap (for myself) or well-designed packaging (for gifts).

My eyes usually glaze over as soon as someone starts to analyze wine.

But for the first time, I got it. I could literally feel the honey on the roof of my mouth. I could taste the lime. It was perfectly sweet and incredibly smooth.

I think I’ve officially met my wine match.

IMG_1531

We finished the day off at Blue Mountain Brewery.

IMG_1550

Good food…

IMG_1565

…and great company.

IMG_1555

IMG_1556

IMG_1559

IMG_1557

And to round out the weekend, we spent Sunday at Perry Hill with these boys…

12775859285_53f9366b73_b

I…

IMG_1578

spy…

IMG_1581

a camera!!

IMG_1580

IMG_1574

IMG_1573

IMG_1575

IMG_1590

IMG_1602

The perfect end to a perfect weekend!

Leave a Reply

